[logo: Kansas Heritage Group]

Kansas Community Networks

Woodson County Courthouse

City of Yates Center, Woodson County, Kansas

Woodson County, founded in 1855 and named for Daniel Woodson, who was Secretary of the Territory and acting Governor in 1856, is located in the southeast part of the State.  Woodson County is twenty-one miles north and south, twenty-four miles east and west containing 504 square miles, or 322,560 acres.   In 1997 Woodson County had a population of 4,020.  The county seat of Woodson County is Yates Center, which was made the county seat  before there was a house on the town site or an inhabitant within its boundaries.  Yates Center owes its life to the people of Woodson County and to Abner Yates who give his land to the town.

Site maintained by George Laughead, AAM Small Museums & Technology. Site established 1993. Thanks to the late Dr. Lynn H. Nelson, author of "HNSource, the first history site on the WWW."
Return to the Kansas Community Networks
or return to the Kansas Heritage Server.
Return to the Top. Site previously maintained at the University of Kansas. Site maintained in Dodge City, KS. Updated: 15 July 2013.